Fundamentals
CapitSignal interpretationAnnu Projects Limited shows mixed financial performance with significant reliance on government contracts and a high concentration of revenue from top customers.
Annu Projects Limited's financials reveal a revenue from operations of ₹870.10 million for the nine months ended December 31, 2024, with a profit before tax of ₹102.40 million, resulting in a profit margin of approximately 8.36%. The company has shown a gross profit margin of 26.01% during the same period. However, it is heavily reliant on a limited customer base, with the top ten customers contributing 99.24% of revenue. The company has a significant order book of ₹6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024, but this may not necessarily translate into future revenue. The total assets as of December 31, 2024, are ₹1,898.96 million, with total equity of ₹1,081.96 million. The company has reported outstanding trade receivables of ₹456.26 million, which represents 52.44% of revenue from operations, indicating potential cash flow challenges. The company has not declared any dividends in recent fiscal years and has a high level of contingent liabilities totaling ₹1,131.80 million. The share capital before the issue stands at ₹478.10 million, with promoters holding 87.64% of the equity share capital, suggesting potential dilution post-issue.
Strengths
- Strong order book of ₹6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024.
- Gross profit margin of 26.01% for the nine months ended December 31, 2024.
- No defaults on loan repayments.
Concerns
- High reliance on top ten customers for 99.24% of revenue.
- Outstanding trade receivables of ₹456.26 million, representing 52.44% of revenue.
- Significant contingent liabilities totaling ₹1,131.80 million.
What this framework tests
- Revenue growth — ₹870.10 million for the nine months ended December 31, 2024.
- Profit margin — 8.36% for the nine months ended December 31, 2024.
- Debt levels — Total borrowings of ₹207.83 million as of December 31, 2024.
Not disclosed in the filing
- Detailed breakdown of working capital and cash conversion cycle.
- Historical trends for revenue and profit margins over a longer period.
- Information on the company's cash flow against reported profit.
Evidence from the filing (3)
- “Revenue from operations: ₹870.10 million (nine months period ended December 31, 2024).”
- “Profit/(Loss) before tax: ₹102.40 million (nine months period ended December 31, 2024).”
- “Outstanding trade receivables: ₹456.26 million.”
The business
CapitSignal interpretationAnnu Projects Limited operates in the infrastructure sector, focusing on telecom, sewerage, and gas pipeline projects with significant government dependency.
Annu Projects Limited is primarily engaged in the design, development, implementation, operations, and maintenance of essential infrastructure utilities, particularly in the telecom, sewerage, and gas pipeline sectors. The company has laid over 25,000 km of optical fibre cables and constructed sewerage treatment plants, with a current order book valued at ₹ 6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024. Revenue from operations for the nine months ended December 31, 2024, was ₹ 870.10 million, with a gross profit margin of 26.01%. The company derives over 80% of its revenue from telecom and sewerage infrastructure, heavily relying on government sector entities, which accounted for 75.62% of revenue during the same period. This dependency exposes the company to risks associated with competitive bidding and project approvals. The top ten customers contribute 99.24% of revenue, indicating a high customer concentration risk. The company has also reported liquidated damages of ₹ 8.43 million for the nine months ended December 31, 2024, reflecting operational challenges. Annu Projects Limited's business model is characterized by a significant reliance on a limited number of suppliers, with the top supplier accounting for 35.72% of total purchases.
Strengths
- Established expertise in engineering and project management.
- Strong order book of ₹ 6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024.
- Diverse project portfolio across telecom, sewerage, and gas pipeline sectors.
Concerns
- High customer concentration with top ten customers contributing 99.24% of revenue.
- Significant dependency on government contracts, exposing the company to competitive bidding risks.
- Operational challenges reflected in liquidated damages incurred.
Sector and position
CapitSignal interpretationAnnu Projects Limited operates in the infrastructure sector with significant government dependency and a strong order book.
Annu Projects Limited is primarily engaged in the infrastructure sector, focusing on telecom, sewerage, and gas pipeline projects. The company has laid over 25,000 km of optical fibre cables and constructed sewerage treatment plants, indicating a robust operational footprint. The filing indicates that the company derives more than 80% of its revenue from telecom and sewerage infrastructure, with a significant reliance on government contracts, which accounted for 75.62% of revenue in the nine months ended December 31, 2024. The current order book stands at ₹ 6,431.08 million, although the prospectus warns that this may not translate into future revenue. The company is exposed to regulatory risks associated with project approvals and competitive bidding processes. An independent report commissioned by the company provides insights into the industry landscape, although specific figures from this report are not disclosed in the filing. Competitors in the sector include major players like Reliance Jio and Bharti Airtel, but the filing does not provide a detailed peer comparison or relative scale of operations. The company’s financial health is reflected in its reported revenue of ₹ 870.10 million for the nine months ended December 31, 2024, and a profit before tax of ₹ 102.40 million.
Strengths
- Established presence in the infrastructure sector with a diverse project portfolio.
- Strong order book of ₹ 6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024.
- High revenue contribution from government contracts, indicating stable demand.
Concerns
- Significant dependency on government contracts, exposing the company to bidding risks.
- Potential regulatory hurdles affecting project approvals.
- High reliance on a limited number of customers for revenue.
Tailwinds and headwinds
CapitSignal interpretationAnnu Projects Limited faces both significant industry tailwinds and notable operational headwinds.
Annu Projects Limited operates in the infrastructure sector, particularly in telecom, sewerage, and gas pipeline projects, which are poised for growth due to India's projected GDP growth of 6.5% in FY25 and increased government spending on infrastructure. The company has a strong order book of ₹6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024, and has secured a ₹10,130 million work order under the BharatNet Phase III project, indicating its positioning to capture growth in the EPC sector. However, the company is heavily reliant on government contracts, with 75.62% of its revenue derived from government entities, exposing it to risks associated with competitive bidding and project approvals. Additionally, the company has incurred liquidated damages totaling ₹8.43 million in the nine months ended December 31, 2024, reflecting operational challenges. The financial statements show a profit of ₹72.73 million for the same period, but the company has not declared dividends since January 1, 2025, raising concerns about cash flow management. Furthermore, the company faces risks from ongoing litigations amounting to ₹273.51 million and contingent liabilities of ₹1,131.80 million, which could adversely impact its financial condition.
Strengths
- Strong order book of ₹6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024.
- Positioned to benefit from government spending on infrastructure.
- Diverse project portfolio across telecom, sewerage, and gas pipeline sectors.
Concerns
- Heavy reliance on government contracts for 75.62% of revenue.
- Operational challenges reflected in liquidated damages incurred.
- Significant ongoing litigations and contingent liabilities.
What this framework tests
Future potential
CapitSignal interpretationAnnu Projects Limited's IPO reveals significant capital allocation for growth amidst operational risks.
Annu Projects Limited plans to utilize the proceeds from its IPO primarily for capital expenditure on machinery (₹140.29 million) and working capital requirements (₹1,150 million) for Fiscal 2026 and 2027. The company has secured a substantial work order worth ₹10,130 million from G R Infraprojects Limited, which could enhance its revenue stream if executed successfully. The current order book stands at ₹6,431.08 million, but it is heavily reliant on government contracts, which accounted for over 75% of its revenue in recent fiscal years. For growth to materialize, the company must maintain its order book and manage project execution risks, including obtaining necessary approvals and mitigating delays. The filing indicates that any slowdown in the telecom or sewerage sectors could adversely impact operations. Additionally, the company faces challenges such as high contingent liabilities (₹1,131.80 million) and a significant portion of revenue (99.24%) derived from its top ten customers, which caps its growth potential. The reliance on a limited number of suppliers and ongoing litigations further complicate its operational landscape. The company has not declared dividends in recent years, indicating a focus on reinvestment rather than shareholder returns.
Strengths
- Strong order book of ₹6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024.
- Significant work order secured from G R Infraprojects Limited.
- Diverse project portfolio across telecom, sewerage, and gas pipeline sectors.
Concerns
- High dependency on government contracts for revenue.
- Significant contingent liabilities totaling ₹1,131.80 million.
- Reliance on top ten customers for 99.24% of revenue.
Buffett lens
CapitSignal interpretationAnnu Projects Limited's IPO reveals a complex financial landscape with significant dependencies and operational risks.
Annu Projects Limited operates in the infrastructure sector, primarily focusing on telecom, sewerage, and gas pipeline projects. The company has shown a revenue from operations of ₹870.10 million for the nine months ended December 31, 2024, with a profit before tax of ₹102.40 million. However, it derives over 75% of its revenue from government contracts, exposing it to risks associated with competitive bidding and project approvals. The order book stands at ₹6,431.08 million, but the prospectus warns that this may not translate into future revenue. The company has a high dependency on its top ten customers, which contributed 99.24% of revenue, raising concerns about customer concentration risk. Financially, the company has reported a PAT margin of 8.36% and a return on equity of 6.72%, but it has not declared dividends in recent years, indicating potential cash flow constraints. Management appears to be experienced, yet the prospectus lacks detailed disclosures on management's candor and rationality regarding capital allocation. The filing does not provide sufficient information to assess the predictability of the business's ten-year shape or the durability of its competitive advantage, leaving significant gaps in understanding its long-term viability.
Strengths
- Established expertise in engineering and project management.
- Strong order book of ₹6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024.
- Reported profit before tax of ₹102.40 million for the nine months ended December 31, 2024.
Concerns
- High dependency on government contracts for revenue.
- Customer concentration risk with top ten customers contributing 99.24% of revenue.
- No dividends declared in recent years, indicating potential cash flow issues.
Graham lens
CapitSignal interpretationAnnu Projects Limited's IPO shows significant financial risks and lacks earnings stability.
Annu Projects Limited's financial disclosures reveal a concerning lack of earnings stability, with only four periods of financial data available, which is insufficient for a thorough analysis under Graham's criteria. The company reported a profit of ₹72.73 million for the nine months ended December 31, 2024, but has not declared dividends in the past fiscal years, indicating a potential lack of shareholder returns. The current ratio and working capital adequacy are not disclosed, leaving uncertainty about liquidity. The company has total borrowings of ₹207.83 million against total equity of ₹1,081.96 million, suggesting a debt-to-equity ratio that may raise concerns about financial leverage. The earnings growth is inconsistent, with basic EPS of ₹1.63 for the nine months ended December 31, 2024, compared to ₹4.07 for the year ending March 31, 2024, and lower figures in previous years. The NAV per share is ₹22.63, but the price band is not yet announced, making it impossible to assess the margin of safety against book value. Overall, the lack of consistent earnings, dividend history, and adequate financial disclosures fails Graham's defensive-investor criteria.
Strengths
- Reported profit of ₹72.73 million for the nine months ended December 31, 2024.
- Total equity of ₹1,081.96 million indicates a solid capital base.
Concerns
- No dividends declared in the past fiscal years.
- Insufficient earnings stability with only four periods of financial data.
- Lack of current ratio and working capital adequacy disclosures.
- Total borrowings of ₹207.83 million raise concerns about financial leverage.
What this framework tests
Munger lens
CapitSignal interpretationAnnu Projects Limited's IPO reveals significant risks tied to government dependency and litigation.
Annu Projects Limited's Draft Red Herring Prospectus indicates a heavy reliance on government contracts, with over 75% of revenue derived from government sector entities. This dependency raises concerns about competitive bidding risks and potential revenue volatility. The company has an order book of ₹6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024, but the prospectus warns that this may not translate into future revenue. Additionally, the company has incurred liquidated damages totaling ₹8.43 million in the nine months ended December 31, 2024, highlighting operational challenges. The promoters, Sanjay Kumar Sarraf and Krishna Ranjan, hold 87.64% of the equity, which may create a lack of alignment with minority shareholders. The absence of primary or secondary transactions in the past 18 months raises questions about market interest and pricing. Furthermore, ongoing litigations with an aggregate amount of ₹273.51 million could pose financial risks. The company has not declared dividends in recent years, indicating potential cash flow constraints. The filing lacks detailed management discussions and risk assessments, leaving investors with significant gaps in understanding the company's future prospects.
Strengths
- Established expertise in engineering and project management.
- Strong order book of ₹6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024.
- No defaults on loan repayments.
Concerns
- Heavy reliance on government contracts for over 75% of revenue.
- Ongoing litigations totaling ₹273.51 million.
- No dividends declared in recent years, indicating potential cash flow issues.
- High dependency on a limited number of customers, with top 10 contributing 99.24% of revenue.
Forensic lens (Schilit)
CapitSignal interpretationAnnu Projects Limited's IPO filing reveals significant operational risks and related-party transactions.
The prospectus for Annu Projects Limited's upcoming IPO raises several red flags under Schilit's shenanigan taxonomy. Earnings manipulation concerns are present, particularly with the company's revenue recognition practices, as it derives over 80% of its revenue from government contracts, which may be subject to competitive bidding risks. The company has also reported liquidated damages of ₹8.43 million for the nine months ended December 31, 2024, indicating potential operational inefficiencies. Cash-flow shenanigans are evident with outstanding trade receivables amounting to ₹456.26 million, representing 52.44% of revenue from operations, suggesting a long collection cycle that could strain cash flows. Key-metric shenanigans are highlighted by the company's reliance on non-GAAP measures, such as the reported PAT margin of 8.36% for Fiscal 2024, which may not reflect true profitability. Related-party transactions are notable, with significant salary expenses paid to directors and loans taken by related parties, raising concerns about potential conflicts of interest. The absence of auditor qualifications and emphasis-of-matter paragraphs is a positive aspect, but the lack of disclosures regarding the company's subsidiaries and any material developments is a gap that could obscure the full financial picture. Overall, the filing presents a complex risk landscape that warrants careful consideration.
Strengths
- No qualifications in the auditors' reports.
- Strong order book of ₹6,431.08 million as of December 31, 2024.
- Established expertise in engineering and project management.
Concerns
- High dependency on government contracts for revenue.
- Outstanding trade receivables represent 52.44% of revenue.
- Significant related-party transactions raise potential conflict of interest issues.
Read from the DRHP CapitSignal holds. Informational analysis of a public issue — not investment advice, and not a recommendation to subscribe.